March 2015 NEXT is coming to Varna!

On the Wednesday we decided to visit Varna and the seaside town of Obzor.

As Ed and I had already been to the older of the two malls, we headed for the Grand Mall, which opened in 2011.  imageThis place has everything for the shopaholic with over 220 stores, including Esprit, Zara, H&M and from September 2015…………… NEXT!   Yes, NEXT is coming to Varna🎉👏😍.  I was one happy bunny, when I saw the signs !!  Wonder if my next card will be valid??

After we had had enough of wandering round the numerous international, designer shops we decided to head for Obzor and show Ben the Black Sea coast.  In the summer many towns along the coast are vibrant and full of life, hosting thousands of visitors, in winter however they are ghost towns.

Beach bar and lifeguard station
Beach bar and lifeguard station

When  we arrived in Obzor only one restaurant was open!  We wandered down to the beach, where I took some photos.

Ed and Ben waiting patiently for me
Ed and Ben waiting patiently for me

It was a bit brisk, so we didn’t hang around!  Lol.DSC_0817

We headed back up the coast and stopped off on one of the side streets in Varna and went to explore the boutiques lining the main road.  imageI found a very “me” denim dress, with an uneven hem and a hood.  Tried the medium as the small looked incredibly small,  nope didn’t fit 😠 turns out I’m a “large” in Bulgaria!! 😥  Ah well, it had to happen one day, I suppose, hehe.

On the way through Varna, I spotted a building from quite away off, with golden domes  DSC_0828

Getting closer!
Getting closer!

I later learnt that it is the Dormition of the Mother of God Cathedral and it was built in 1886.  image Can’t wait to see inside, when we move over.

Leave a Reply

