Reflections on village life

As I sit here at the end of another bright, cold, sunny, winters day, with the curtains drawn and the fire blazing contemplating what to write about, it dawned on me that it was Monday!  It’s so easy to lose track of days here and Monday mornings no longer herald the start of another working week.  The freedom of not being tied into a 9-5  job to pay the bills is really quite liberating.  No more manic Monday’s, wishing it was Sunday for us! 😊

Today, the only sound disturbing the peace was a donkey braying extremely loudly from the other side of the village, it was even louder than the various cockerels around the village that normally try to out cockadoodle do each other!

Life in the village, at least for us, is peaceful and stress free as Ed pointed out the only stress he has now is wondering if he has enough beer in!  For the Babas (elderly ladies) it’s not quite so idyllic.  They are all in their 70s and 80s, 4 feet nothing with twinkling blue eyes, some bent over with arthritis and their days are filled with tending to their chickens, goats, vegetables and chopping their fire wood into kindling.  They don’t complain and are always cheerful and stop to chat to you and pat your face or arm and hold your hand.  It doesn’t matter to them that we don’t understand most of what their saying.  Our closest neighbours are Baba Rueski, whose house backs on to our and Baba Da (that’s what it sounded like or she could have just been saying call her Baba, yes? As da means yes!) who lives just across the road.

Early one morning, not long after the dogs had arrived, when I was up letting the dogs out and admiring the view and the peace, I heard someone calling, I looked up to locate the source of the noise and there was Baba Rueski at the fence.  At the same time as I spotted her so did, Asbach, who let out one of her deep chested woofs and galloped towards her.  I have never in my life seen a tiny old lady, in long skirts move so quick!  Quick as a flash she was back through the gate that leads from her side garden (which borders ours) and into her house.  I called the dogs and put them in doors and wandered across the field (our garden! Lol) calling “hello”and “Dobra utro” (good morning), she emerged slowly and peered round the corner of her house, I said it’s ok, I’ve put the dogs away and beckoned her forward.  She came bearing gifts, a bag of cakes, a big bunch of cut chrysanthemums and a chrysanthemum plant as a welcome present.  After the introductions, she in Bulgarian and me speaking English, I thought she said she was from Dobrich, transpires several weeks later and no sign of her that she has gone to stay in Dobrich with her family for the winter!

Baba Da who is 82 years old and in the warm weather could be found most days in the late afternoon sat on a pail just outside her gate, waiting to chat whom so ever is passing, gave us a bottle of her homemade red wine as a welcome gift😊.

image One day when I was about to put a full black bin bag into the communal bin, Baba Da came hobbling towards me, shaking her stick and giving me a real hard time  (the tone and the frequent use of “ne” gave it away!).  Perplexed, I stopped putting the bag in the bin and asked “ne?”.  She continued to give me hard time, when I looked in the bin (the bin lorry had been that very morning) it was still full of black bags that we had been happily throwing in there 😩. Suitably embarrassed, I tipped the contents of the bag into the bin, this met with her approval a smile and a hug😳.  After that I started using smaller bags and still shake their contents into the bin, never again do I want to upset the locals!! I  also snuck out wearing plastic gloves one evening and ripped all the old black bags open as best I could!  I’m pleased to say the next time the bin lorry came (every other Friday) the bin was emptied 👏😀 phew!

Just after sunrise imageone morning I was out with the dogs and heard a lone bell, tolling slowly and mournfully across the village, signalling that someone had died 😥  The following day as we were driving through the  village to go to Dobrich, the bells were frantically ringing out, calling the villagers to the funeral.  I have to say whoever it was that had died must have been popular as it appeared the whole village was making its way to the church to pay they’re last respects.

Every evening, just as the sun is setting, the jackdaws and rooks start flocking together prior to roosting and give the most amazing aerobatic display.  In the picture below they are just starting to gather over the top of Baba Rueski’s house image.jpeg

Life here has a much gentler pace to it, governed by the seasons and so far we are all loving it.

One thought on “Reflections on village life

Leave a Reply

